Cast
Wien, Österreich

Biography

Murathan Muslu, born on November 7, 1981 in Vienna, Austria, began his artistic career as a musician: under the stage name Aqil, he founded the hip-hop group Sua Kaan in 1996, at the age of 15, together with two friends. Originally intended as a hobby, Sua Kaan's music became more professional over time. In early 2010, the band released its first (and so far last) album, "Aus eigener Kraft," which landed the band in the charts and was nominated for the prestigious Amadeus Austrian Music Award.  

Also in 2010, Sua Kaan realized the official music video for Hüseyin Tabak's film "Kick Off", an award-winning documentary about the Austrian national homeless football team on their way to the Homeless World Cup in December 2008 in Melbourne, Australia. The music video was directed by Umut Dağ - who also gave Muslu his first feature film role the following year: In the 40-minute film "Papa" (AT 2011), he played a rapper who must face his role as a single father. The multi-award-winning film marked the beginning of a regular collaboration between Dağ and Muslu (who did not pursue his rap career).  

Muslu, for example, played a leading role in Dağ's feature-length debut "Kuma" (AT 2012), which opened the Panorama section at the Berlinale 2012. The film tells the story of a young Austrian-Turk who acts as a sham husband to his own father's second wife - and has to hide his own homosexuality. The intense drama screened at numerous festivals and won several awards. Lighter fare was Hüseyin Tabak's children's film "Das Pferd auf dem Balkon" ("The Horse on the Balcony",AT 2012), with Muslu in a supporting role as a clumsy crook. In 2013, he was seen in a supporting role in Jan Bonny's highly acclaimed TV movie "Der Tod macht Engel aus uns allen" from the "Polizeiruf 110" series, followed by a part as a Bulgarian pimp in "Angezählt" from the "Tatort" series.  

Muslu had a major success with the lead role in Umut Dağ's "Risse im Beton" ("Cracks in Concrete", AT 2014): For his portrayal of an ex-convict who wants to save his son from getting involved in drug-related crime, he was awarded Best Actor at the Filmkunstfest Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 2014, at the Diagonale in Graz 2015 and at the Austrian Film Awards 2015.   

He had a central role in Christian Alvart's TV movies "Kopfgeld" (2014), "Der große Schmerz" (2016) from the "Tatort" series and their feature film spin-off "Tschiller: Off Duty" (2016), as a neighborhood bigwig and informant for Til Schweiger's main character, detective inspector Nick Tschiller. Muslu was also part of the ensemble of Josef Hader's social satire "Wilde Maus" ("Wild Mouse", 2017) and played the male lead in Sabine Derflinger's romantic comedy "Anna Fucking Molnar" (AT 2017), which earned him a Romy nomination for Most Popular Actor.  

Once again directed by Umut Dağ, Muslu portrayed a Muslim family father in the TV drama "Das deutsche Kind" (2017), who is supposed to take care of his deceased (Christian) neighbor's little daughter according to her will - much to the displeasure of the child's grandmother. Muslu received a nomination for the Bavarian Television Award for this role. Dağ also cast him in the third and (final) fourth season of the series "CopStories" (AT 2018-2019) as a new member of the Vienna-Ottakring crime squad. In parallel, Muslu has been playing a prosecutor in the Austrian series "Schnell ermittelt" ("Fast Forward") since 2017.  

Muslu was also a sought-after actor in ambitious series projects. For example, in the Sky miniseries "8 Tage" ("8 Days", 2019, directed by Stefan Ruzowitzky, Michael Krummenacher), he played a German-Turkish police officer who wants to maintain his moral integrity even in the face of the end of the world. The Netflix series "Skylines" (2019), set in Frankfurt, featured him in a leading role as a rapper and music producer, a character based on the rapper Haftbefehl from Offenbach. In addition, he appeared in the TV thrillers "Es lebe der Tod" (2018) and "Der gute Bulle - Friss oder stirb" (2019) directed by Lars Becker.  

Murathan Muslu had big screen roles as an Islamist hijacker in the terrorism thriller "7500" (DE/AT 2019) and as the secret lover of a single woman (Nina Hoss) in the mother-daughter psychodrama "Pelikanblut" ("Pelican Blood", DE/BG 2019), which was screened at the Venice, Toronto and Hamburg film festivals, among others. Alongside Liv Lisa Fries and Max von der Groeben, he was in front of the camera at the end of 2019 for Stefan Rutzowitzky's "Hinterland" (theatrical release in fall 2021), a thriller set in Vienna in the early 1920s about a prisoner of war (Muslu) who returns to his homeland after World War I and is confronted with a gruesome series of murders.

Filmography

2019-2021
  • Cast
2019/2020
  • Cast
2018/2019
  • Cast
2017-2019
  • Cast
2018/2019
  • Cast
2017/2018
  • Cast
2017/2018
  • Cast
2016/2017
  • Cast
2015/2016
  • Cast
2014/2015
  • Cast
2012/2013
  • Cast

Darsteller
Wien, Österreich

Biografie

Murathan Muslu, geboren am 7. November 1981 in Wien, Österreich, begann seine Künstlerkarriere als Musiker: Unter dem Künstlernamen Aqil gründete er 1996, im Alter von 15 Jahren, gemeinsam mit zwei Freunden die Hip-Hop-Gruppe Sua Kaan. Ursprünglich als Hobby gedacht, nahm die Musik von Sua Kaan immer professionellere Züge an. Anfang 2010 erschien das erste (und bislang letzte) Album der Band, "Aus eigener Kraft", das sich in den Charts platzieren konnte und für den renommierten Amadeus Austrian Music Award nominiert wurde.

Ebenfalls 2010 realisierte Sua Kaan das offizielle Musikvideo zu Hüseyin Tabaks Film "Kick Off", einem preisgekrönten Dokumentarfilm über die österreichische Obdachlosen-Nationalmannschaft auf ihrem Weg zum Homeless World Cup im Dezember 2008 in Melbourne, Australien. Die Regie bei dem Musikvideo führte Umut Dağ – der Muslu im Jahr darauf auch seine erste Spielfilmrolle gab: In dem 40-minütigen "Papa" (AT 2011) verkörpert er einen Rapper, der sich seiner Rolle als alleinerziehender Vater stellen muss. Der mehrfach ausgezeichnete Film markierte den Beginn einer regelmäßigen Zusammenarbeit von Dağ und Muslu (der seine Rapperkarriere nicht weiterverfolgte).

So spielte Muslu eine Hauptrolle in Dağs Langfilmdebüt "Kuma" (AT 2012), das auf der Berlinale 2012 die Sektion Panorama eröffnete. Die Geschichte handelt von einem jungen Österreich-Türken, der als Scheinehemann der Zweitfrau seines eigenen Vaters fungiert – und seine eigene Homosexualität verheimlichen muss. Das intensive Drama lief auf zahlreichen Festivals und gewann mehrere Preise. Leichterer Stoff war Hüseyin Tabaks Kinderfilm "Das Pferd auf dem Balkon" (AT 2012), mit Muslu in einer Nebenrolle als tollpatschiger Gauner. 2013 sah man ihn in einer Nebenrolle von Jan Bonnys viel gelobter "Polizeiruf 110"-Folge "Der Tod macht Engel aus uns allen", gefolgt von einem Part als bulgarischer Zuhälter in der Wiener "Tatort"-Folge "Angezählt". 

Ein großer Erfolg gelang Muslu mit der Hauptrolle in Umut Dağs "Risse im Beton" (AT 2014): Für seine Verkörperung eines Ex-Häftlings, der seinen Sohn vor einem Abrutschen in die Drogenkriminalität bewahren will, wurde er beim Filmkunstfest Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 2014, bei der Diagonale in Graz 2015 und beim Österreichischen Filmpreis 2015 jeweils als Bester Darsteller ausgezeichnet. 

Eine Schlüsselrolle hatte er in Christian Alvarts Til-Schweiger-"Tatort"-Filmen "Kopfgeld" (2014), "Der große Schmerz" (2016) und "Tschiller: Off Duty" (2016, Kino), als Kiezgröße und Informant von Schweigers Kommissar. Außerdem gehörte Muslu zum Ensemble von Josef Haders Gesellschaftssatire "Wilde Maus" (2017) und spielte die männliche Hauptrolle in Sabine Derflingers Liebeskomödie "Anna Fucking Molnar" (AT 2017), die ihm eine Romy-Nominierung als Beliebtester Schauspieler einbrachte.

Einmal mehr unter der Regie von Umut Dağ verkörperte Muslu in dem Fernsehspiel "Das deutsche Kind" (2017) einen muslimischen Familienvater, der sich nach dem Willen seiner verstorbenen (christlichen) Nachbarin um deren kleine Tochter kümmern soll – sehr zum Unmut der Großmutter des Kindes. Für diese Rolle erhielt Muslu eine Nominierung für den Bayerischen Fernsehpreis. Dağ besetzte ihn auch in der dritten und (abschließenden) vierten Staffel der Serie "CopStories" (AT 2018-2019) als neues Mitglied des Kripoteams von Wien-Ottakring. Parallel dazu spielte (und spielt) Muslu seit 2017 in der österreichischen Serie "Schnell ermittelt" einen Staatsanwalt.

Auch sonst war Muslu ein gefragter Darsteller bei ambitionierten Serienprojekten. So gab er in der Sky-Miniserie "8 Tage" (2019, Regie: Stefan Ruzowitzky, Michael Krummenacher) einen deutsch-türkischen Polizisten, der auch angesichts des Weltuntergangs seine moralische Integrität bewahren will. Die in Frankfurt spielende Netflix-Serie "Skylines" (2019) zeigte ihn in einer Hauptrolle als Rapper und Musikproduzent, eine Figur, die auf dem Offenbacher Rapper Haftbefehl basiert. Daneben drehte er mit Lars Becker die TV-Krimis "Es lebe der Tod" (2018) und "Der gute Bulle - Friss oder stirb" (2019).

Kinorollen hatte Murathan Muslu als islamistischer Flugzeugentführer in dem Terrorismus-Thriller "7500" (DE/AT 2019) und als heimlicher Liebhaber einer allein erziehenden Frau (Nina Hoss) in dem Mutter-Tochter-Psychodrama "Pelikanblut" (DE/BG 2019), das unter anderem bei den Filmfestivals von Venedig, Toronto und Hamburg zu sehen war. An der Seite von Liv Lisa Fries und Matthias Schweighöfer stand er Ende 2019 für Stefan Rutzowitzkys "Hinterland" (Start: Dezember 2020) vor der Kamera, einem im Wien der frühen 1920er Jahre spielenden Thriller über einen Kriegsgefangenen (Muslu), der nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg in seine Heimat zurückkehrt.

 

FILMOGRAFIE

2020
  • Darsteller
2019/2020
  • Darsteller
2018/2019
  • Darsteller
2018/2019
  • Darsteller
2017/2018
  • Darsteller
2017/2018
  • Darsteller
2017-2019
  • Darsteller
2017
  • Darsteller
2017
  • Darsteller
2016/2017
  • Darsteller
2016
  • Darsteller
2015/2016
  • Darsteller
2014/2015
  • Darsteller
2012/2013
  • Darsteller