Cast
Bagdad, Irak

Biography

Dar Salim was born on 18 August 1977 in Baghdad, Iraq. When he was one year old, the family fled their homeland and, after stops in Syria and Bulgaria, finally received asylum in Denmark. At that time Salim was seven years old. After finishing high school, he volunteered for the military and became a soldier in the Royal Life Guard. In 2002 he completed his training as a pilot and was active in civil aviation from 2004.

During this training Salim also took acting lessons in New York and London as well as with the Danish actress Sarah Boberg. He had his first small role in 2003 in an episode of the Danish television series "Forsvar". In 2009 he gave up his career as a pilot in favour of an acting career.

Salim was nominated for the Danish Film Prize Bodil for his leading role in the feature film "Gå med fred Jamil - Ma salama Jamil" ("Go with Peace Jamil", DK 2009), playing an Arab in Copenhagen torn by inner conflict. He has had supporting roles in Thomas Vinterberg's crime drama "Submarino" (DK 2010) and in Lee Tamahori's Saddam Hussein thriller "The Devil's Double" (2011), both of which premiered at the Berlinale. He had appeared as Blood Rider in the first season of "Game of Thrones" (US 2011) and as chairman of a left-wing ecological party in the Danish political series "Borgen" (DK/DE 2010-2011). For his leading role as newspaper photographer and close confidant of an investigative journalist in the crime series "Dicte" (DK 2013-2016) Salim was nominated three times for the Danish Film Prize 'Robert' (2014, 2015 and 2017). He received another 'Robert' nomination for his leading role in the revenge thriller "Underverden" ("Darkland", DK 2017). Important roles on the big screen were those of a captain in the biblical epic "Exodus: Gods and Kings" (US 2014, directed by Ridley Scott) and as the closest confidant of a Danish commander in the Afghanistan war drama "Krigen" (DK 2015).

Salim played his first German-speaking role in Florian Baxmeyer's "Brüder" (2014), an episode of the crime series "Tatort", as the head of a criminal clan. In the comedy "Macho Man" (2015), directed by Christian Ulmen, he portrayed the Turkish brother of Aylin Tezel's main character. In the TV two-parter "Spuren der Rache" (2017), he was seen as the bodyguard of a Moroccan arms dealer. He made a small appearance as a jailbird in the stoner comedy "Lommbock" (2017).

Despite his involvement in German and other international productions, Salim remained mainly active in Denmark. For his leading role as an undercover investigator in the thriller series "Kriger" (DK 2018) he received another 'Robert' nomination, as well as for his supporting role as a widower with a dark past in the crime series "Fred til lands" (DK 2019).

Salim played his first leading role in a German production in Johannes Naber's "Ohne Titel" (2020). In the film he plays an Iraqi refugee, who in 2003 gives a fanatical German secret service agent supposedly solid evidence of weapons of mass destruction. The grotesquely satirical political drama celebrated its world premiere at the Berlinale 2020.

Dar Salim lives in Copenhagen with his family.

FILMOGRAFIE

2016/2017
  • Cast
2016/2017
  • Cast
2015/2016
  • Cast
2014/2015
  • Cast
2013/2014
  • Cast

Darsteller
Bagdad, Irak

Biografie

Dar Salim wurde am 18. August 1977 in Bagdad, Irak, geboren. Als er ein Jahr alt war, flüchtete die Familie aus der Heimat und erhielt nach Stationen in Syrien und Bulgarien schließlich in Dänemark Asyl. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war Salim sieben Jahr alt. Nach dem Gymnasialabschluss meldete er sich freiwillig zum Militär und wurde Soldat bei der Königlichen Leibgarde. 2002 absolvierte er schließlich eine Ausbildung als Pilot und war ab 2004 in der zivilen Luftfahrt tätig.

Während dieser Ausbildung nahm Salim Schauspielunterricht in New York und London sowie bei der dänischen Schauspielerin Sarah Boberg. Seine erste, kleine Rolle hatte er 2003 in einer Folge der dänischen Fernsehserie "Forsvar". 2009 gab er seine Pilotenlaufbahn zugunsten der Schauspielkarriere auf.

Für seine Hauptrolle in dem Kinofilm "Gå med fred Jamil - Ma salama Jamil" ("Go with Peace Jamil", DK 2009), als von inneren Konflikten zerrissener Araber in Kopenhagen, wurde Salim für den dänischen Filmpreis Bodil nominiert. Kino-Nebenrollen hatte er unter anderem in Thomas Vinterbergs Kriminaldrama "Submarino" (DK 2010) und in Lee Tamahoris Saddam-Hussein-Thriller "The Devil’s Double" (2011), die beide auf der Berlinale Premiere feierten. Serienrollen hatte er als "Blutreiter" in der ersten Staffel von "Game of Thrones" (US 2011) und als Vorsitzender einer links-ökologischen Partei in der dänischen Polit-Serie "Borgen" ("Borgen – Gefährliche Seilschaften", DK/DE 2010-2011). Für seine tragende Rolle als Zeitungsfotograf und enger Vertrauter einer investigativen Journalistin der Krimiserie "Dicte" (DK 2013-2016) wurde Salim drei Mal für den Dänischen Filmpreis 'Robert' nominiert (2014, 2015 und 2017). Eine weitere 'Robert'-Nominierung erhielt er für seine Hauptrolle in dem Rache-Thriller "Underverden" ("Darkland", DK 2017). Wichtige Kinoauftritte hatte er als Hauptmann in dem biblischen Historienepos "Exodus: Gods and Kings" ("Exodus: Götter und Könige", US 2014, Regie: Ridley Scott) und als engster Vertrauter eines dänischen Kommandanten in dem Afghanistan-Kriegsdrama "Krigen" (DK 2015).

Seine erste deutschsprachige Rolle spielte Salim in Florian Baxmeyers "Tatort"-Folge "Brüder" (2014), als Kopf eines kriminellen Clans. In der Christian-Ulmen-Komödie "Macho Man" (2015) gab er den türkischen Bruder von Aylin Tezels Hauptfigur. In dem TV-Zweiteiler "Spuren der Rache" (2017) sah man ihn als Bodyguard eines marokkanischen Waffenhändlers. Einen kleinen Auftritt als Knastbruder hatte er in der Kiffer-Komödie "Lommbock" (2017).

In erster Linie blieb Salim jedoch in Dänemark aktiv. Für seine Hauptrolle als Undercover-Ermittler in der Thrillerserie "Kriger" (DK 2018) erhielt er erneut eine 'Robert'-Nominierung, ebenso für seine Nebenrolle als Witwer mit dunkler Vergangenheit in der Krimiserie "Fred til lands" (DK 2019).

Seine erste Kino-Hauptrolle in einer deutschen Produktion bekam Salim von Regisseur Johannes Naber: Dieser besetzte ihn in "ohne Titel" (2020) als irakischen Flüchtling, der im Jahr 2003 einem fanatischen BND-Agenten vermeintlich gesicherte Hinweise auf Massenvernichtungswaffen gibt. Das grotesk-satirische Politdrama feierte im Rahmen der Berlinale 2020 Weltpremiere.

Dar Salim lebt mit seiner Familie in Kopenhagen.

FILMOGRAFIE

2020/2021
  • Darsteller
2016/2017
  • Darsteller
2016/2017
  • Darsteller
2015/2016
  • Darsteller
2014/2015
  • Darsteller
2014
  • Darsteller
2013/2014
  • Darsteller